IMAGINE DRAGONS EVOLVE(D) YESTERDAY

Ok, so there’s this cool thing called Manic Monday Challenge. The song title chosen for this week is Imagine by John Lennon. I know! Great song, right?!

I was thinking and thinking and thinking and kept hitting a wall. I seriously thought I would have to bow out of this one. Then, I got smacked over the head with an image. This:

Screenshot_2017-07-17-19-14-34
Artists: Imagine Dragons- Evolve

Ok, so how remarkable and serendipitous of me to 1, use music for this music prompt (I said serendipitous, not original) and 2, use another John Lennon lyrical masterpiece to go along with it!

The name of the band is Imagine Dragons, and the track I chose to share from their album was called Yesterday.

Get it?!!! Yesterday, sung by The Beatles and co-written by Mr. Lennon for the Beatles. You gotta give it to me. Come on!

I chose this track because of the powerful lyrics. Another reason why this choice is so touched by an angel is that this group is as prolific with lyrical spiritualism as John Lennon was in his solo career as well as with The Beatles. Although most of John Lennon’s focus is surrounding the brotherhood of man, Imagine Dragons’ message throughout their music is about self-awareness and personal growth.

I wish I could have shared the song with you, but unfortunately, this track is not one of the released singles. The album is available for purchase and streaming. I’m not familiar with how to share file snippets yet otherwise, I would have something for you to listen to. No one has posted the music for this song yet on YouTube, only lyrics. You’ll only be able to listen to if you have access to a paid music subscription or purchased the track. I already planned to copy the lyrics here, and it would have been great to have the music to go along with it.

Artist: IMAGINE DRAGONS

Album: EVOLVE

Song Title: YESTERDAY

Written By: Ben McKee, Daniel Platzman, Dan Reynolds, Wayne Sermon, Alex da Kid, Jayson DeZuzio

[Chorus]*
Here’s to my future
Here’s to my yesterday
Here’s to change

Oh, here’s to my yesterday
No tomorrow without a yesterday

Here’s to my future
Goodbye to yesterday

[Verse 1]
All these years I’ve been searching
For who I’m supposed to be
All that time I’ve been wasting
‘Cause I was right in front of me
Oh, it’s a crooked old tradition
By a masterful magician
But in all this trouble I’ve met
I haven’t got one single regret, no

[Chorus]
Here’s to my future
Here’s to my yesterday
Here’s to change
Oh, here’s to my yesterday
No tomorrow without a yesterday
Here’s to my future
Goodbye to yesterday

Yesterday

[Chorus]
Here’s to my future
Here’s to my yesterday
Here’s to change
Oh, here’s to my yesterday
No tomorrow without a yesterday
Here’s to my future
Goodbye to yesterday

Yesterday

[Bridge]
A new day, you can go
You can do anything you wanna

It’s your play, swing low
Go high anywhere you wanna
You can reach for the moon
Anywhere your dreams could take you
Go astray, fade away
Just leave it to yesterday

[Chorus]
Here’s to my future
Here’s to my yesterday
Here’s to change
Oh, here’s to my yesterday
No tomorrow without a yesterday
Here’s to my future
Goodbye to yesterday

Yesterday

(Colored underlined text also links to the same URL.)
17 thoughts on “IMAGINE DRAGONS EVOLVE(D) YESTERDAY

    1. 😄 Thanks, Fan. Me too! Do you mind me chopping up your alias? Or do you refer to it as a pen name? Either way, I have a thing where some version of someone’s name will pop into my head and right out my mouth, well in this instance, fingers. I call my kid whatever name comes to mind, none of which are on his b.c. He hates it. Let me know.

      Like

        1. Don’t think I’ll do Dango. Sounds too close to the misprononciation of the name Django. I vaguely remember hearing or reading that it was being pronounced incorrectly during the time the movie was out. Well, glad to know you are on board, sailor! 😄

          Liked by 1 person

  1. Oh, don’t start me on different languages, I’m having enough trouble with my own Australian/English. Bell Park Dragons, haha, and we’re in the Southern part of Victoria, Australia. If you find Melbourne on your “Maps”, I’m south/down from Melbourne. And it’s cold and wet here today, brrr

    Liked by 1 person

WHAT SAY YOU?

